Lesezeit:8 Minuten

SEO ist nicht mehr ganz das, was es einmal war. Früher hat man seine Seite einfach mit Schlüsselwörtern vollgestopft, ein paar Links besorgt und fertig war man. Heutzutage gibt es eine Menge anderer Faktoren zu berücksichtigen.

Das erste Update, das die Funktionsweise des Algorithmus wirklich erschütterte, war 2011 Google Panda. Es war der Durchbruch, der die Autoren dazu brachte, sich mehr auf die Qualität ihrer Schreiben anstelle von Schlüsselwörtern. Außerdem wird die 2013 Kolibri update hat den Ansatz durch die Einführung semantischer Suche. Google E-A-T war ein weiteres Beispiel, das uns dazu brachte, uns mehr auf Fachwissen, Autorität und Vertrauen. Sicherheit, Glaubwürdigkeit und Autorität standen dabei im Mittelpunkt. 

Die nächste große Sache sind die sogenannten Core Web Vitals. Google has plans to make UX an even more important ranking factor by measuring Google Page Erleben Sie Signal (mobile-friendliness, HTTPS, safe browsing), Largest Contentful Point, First Input Delay, and Cumulative Layout Shift. This is going to become a reality in May of 2021, and SEO specialists project that this will be one of the most significant shifts ever. All of those updates affect the alignment of UX und SEO.

Wie man SEO und UX in Einklang bringt

 

Was sind UX und SEO, und wie sie sich gegenseitig beeinflussen

UX oder User Experience beschreibt, wie sich der Besucher fühlt und was er tut, wenn er Ihre Website betritt. Dazu gehört auch ihr Verhalten, wie lange wie lange sie bleiben, welche Links sie anklicken und wie sie Ihre Website allgemein wahrnehmen. Wie der Name schon sagt, steht bei UX der Endnutzer im Mittelpunkt.

SEO ist ein wenig anders. Ihr Hauptzweck besteht darin, einem Nutzer geeignete Hinweise zu geben, damit er Ihre Website über eine Suchmaschine findet. Was dann passiert, ist nicht mehr das Anliegen von SEOs. Der Hauptunterschied besteht darin, dass die Crawler die Website nicht auf dieselbe Weise wahrnehmen wie die Menschen. Bots konzentrieren sich auf den Quellcode, Nutzer auf die Optik und den Inhalt. Bei der Suchmaschinenoptimierung geht es mehr darum, die Suchmaschine zufrieden zu stellen als die Menschen.

Ein ausgewogenes Verhältnis zwischen diesen beiden Faktoren ist für den Erfolg Ihrer Website unerlässlich. Was nützt es also, wenn die Besucher Ihre Website leicht finden können, sie aber aufgrund eines schlechten Designs und Inhalts sofort wieder verlassen? Hier kreuzen sich UX und SEO. Metriken wie Verweilzeit sind der Beweis dafür. Petra Odak, CMO bei Bessere Vorschläge weitere Kommentare: "UX hat eine unmittelbare Auswirkung auf SEO. Das Nutzererlebnis ist die Art und Weise, wie ein Besucher mit Ihrer Website interagiert. Einer der wichtigsten Rankingfaktoren für Google (und andere Suchmaschinenergebnisse) ist die Absprungratewas wiederum mit der UX zusammenhängt. Mit anderen Worten: Wenn Ihre UX gut ist, bedeutet das, dass die Besucher Ihre Inhalte mögen und dass sie wertvoll sind. Google interpretiert dies als ein Zeichen dafür, dass Ihre Seite gut ist, und stuft sie höher ein. Einfach ausgedrückt: Sie brauchen eine großartige UX, um bei SEO gut abzuschneiden."

Manchmal können sich diese beiden jedoch gegenseitig verletzen, was einige Herausforderungen mit sich bringt.

Mögliche Herausforderungen

Ein Gleichgewicht zwischen dem Schreiben für Suchmaschinen und für Menschen finden

Schreiben für SEO und Schreiben für UX folgen unterschiedlichen Prinzipien. Ersteres soll die Suchmaschine mit den richtigen Keywords zufriedenstellen, SchemaÜberschriften, Meta-Tags usw., deren einziger Zweck es ist, die Erwartungen der Nutzer zu erfüllen. Nun kann es oft schwierig sein, die richtigen Schlüsselwörter zu verwenden, ohne die Kohärenz des Inhalts zu beeinträchtigen.

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie bekommen Stichwort Vorschläge aus einer Software. Diese stammen aus dem top 10 Seiten, die Rang für eine bestimmte Seite. Sie erhalten möglicherweise falsch geschriebene Versionen eines Stichwortda solche Stellen in den Inhalten Ihrer Konkurrenten auftauchen. Was sollen Sie dann tun? Die Korrektheit für bessere Platzierungen opfern? Hier müssen Sie das perfekte Gleichgewicht finden. Eine gute Faustregel ist jedoch, dass der Nutzer an erster Stelle steht.

Beibehaltung des Budgets zur Befriedigung beider

Both SEO and UX design can prove to be costly adventures. While SEO is more of a long-term expenditure, UX is mostly a one-time payment. Still, striking a balance in the budget for your SEO and UX design efforts is crucial. Underfunded SEO can bring you zero results, completely wasting your money, whereas bad UX will simply repel your visitors from your website. For this reason, you’ll need to make sure that both your campaigns are Kosten-effizient.

Probleme bei der Navigation

Sicherlich ist die interne Verlinkung wichtig, aber wenn man sie übertreibt, sieht die Schnittstelle einfach schlecht und unübersichtlich aus. Es ist zwar großartig, wenn sich der Nutzer auf intuitive Weise frei auf der Seite bewegen kann, aber wenn man es übertreibt, entsteht nur ein noch größeres Durcheinander, das in Wirklichkeit die Navigation auf der gesamten Website erschwert. 

Fragen der technischen Unterstützung

Neel Vithlani, digital Vermarkter von Orderhive sieht in Fragen des technischen Supports eine der Ursachen für die Unstimmigkeiten zwischen UX und SEO: "Nun, der Grund, warum viele Leute beide als Feinde betrachten, ist vielleicht die Tatsache, dass der technische Support in vielen Fällen fehlt. Zum Beispiel bietet Google AMP sehr grundlegende Analytik Daten, obwohl sie äußerst benutzerfreundlich ist. Auch für Anzeigen ist es nicht geeignet. Wir können also verstehen, dass das Problem in der technischen Unterstützung und der Marktakzeptanz liegt." Er erwähnt auch E-Mails: "E-Mails haben seit Jahrzehnten mit einem Mangel an technischem Support zu kämpfen, und die jüngsten Upgrades haben die UX stark beeinflusst."

Die perfekte Verbindung von UX und SEO arrangieren

Es gibt eine ganze Reihe von Problemen, die Sie lösen müssen. Hier sind einige Tipps, damit die ganze SEO- und UX-Tortur funktioniert.

Etablierung einer Kultur der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Abteilungen

SEO- und UX-Leute halten sich an unterschiedliche Prinzipien. Der erste Schritt sollte sein, diese beiden Abteilungen aufeinander abzustimmen und die Zusammenarbeit und effektive Kommunikation zu fördern. William Cannon, CEO von Unterschrift: stimmt zu: "Beginnen Sie damit, Ihre SEO- und UX-Abteilungen eng zusammenzulegen (vorausgesetzt, Sie haben beide Disziplinen unter einem Dach). Durch die gleiche Arbeitsatmosphäre kann aus einer konkurrierenden Beziehung oft eine kollaborative werden, vor allem, wenn beide Teams von Anfang an gleichzeitig in Webprojekte eingebunden sind." 

Beauftragen Sie den besten SEO-Berater
Content-Marketing-Tipps zur Verbesserung Ihrer SEO

Dies sollte jedoch vor dem Beginn der Projektentwicklung geschehen. Der Versuch, dies erst nach Beginn der Aufgaben zu tun, ist völlig sinnlos. In der Produktionsphase könnten Kommunikationsprobleme auftreten, und Sie würden das Nachsehen haben. William ergänzt das Thema: "Wenn beide Gruppen von der Planungsphase an zusammenarbeiten, können sie dominante Akzente setzen, die Ihr Projekt in eine erstaunliche (und insgesamt bessere) Position bringen können. Sie werden auch mehr Verantwortung für das Projekt übernehmen, da sie schon früh in der Methode diskutiert und einbezogen werden."

Herausfinden der Suchabsicht

https://twitter.com/debgotwired/status/1360589411021246476

Die Suchabsicht ist der Grund, warum Nutzer eine bestimmte Suchanfrage in die Suchleiste eingeben. Die Erfüllung der Suchabsicht des Nutzers sollte Ihre Priorität sein. Sie müssen die Merkmale der einzelnen SERPs kennen, damit Sie nicht versuchen, Ihre Website auf den vorderen Plätzen zu platzieren. Blog unter eCommerce oder Produktseiten. Das ist einfach verschwendete Mühe, und warum auch immer, Sie werden die Erwartungen Ihrer Kunden mit Ihrer Seite nicht erfüllen.

Nehmen wir an, eine Person gibt bei Google "hohe Absätze kaufen" ein. Ihre Absicht ist es, hohe Absätze zu kaufen. Ihr Blog Die Platzierung im Ranking der anderen eCommerce-Websites wird Ihnen zweifellos wenig bis gar keine Klicks einbringen. Da Sie die Absicht nicht erfüllt haben, werden Sie nichts gewinnen, selbst wenn Sie weit oben stehen.

Konzentration auf Schnipsel

Wie man SEO und UX in Einklang bringt 1

Laut Ahrefs generieren Sie 31% mehr Traffic, wenn Sie ein Featured Schnipsel in einer SERP, im Vergleich zu nur dem ersten Platz. Aus diesem Grund müssen Sie Ihre Snippets besonders hervorheben, da sie die Frage des Nutzers genau beantworten sollen. Hier müssen Sie Ihre UX und SEO aufeinander abstimmen, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie Ihr Snippet erhalten und es zweitens klickbar und interessant machen. 

Ermittlung der besten Wortzahl

Ihre Konkurrenten sollten Ihnen eine Vorstellung davon geben, welche Art von Inhalten funktioniert am besten für Ihr Publikum. Langform-Inhalte mögen zwar verlockend sein, da sie mehr Long-Tail-Keywords enthalten, aber das ist nicht immer der Fall. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie sich mit ihnen vergleichen, um herauszufinden, was die Absicht ist. Manchmal eignen sich kurze Inhalte einfach besser für Conversions und Traffic, aber das hängt allein vom Thema und den Keywords ab. Denken Sie daran, dass alle Antworten auf die Frage, wie Ihre Seite aussehen sollte, in den Top 10 der SERP zu finden sind.

Schnelle, prägnante Antworten

Ihre Besucher brauchen Antworten, so einfach ist das. Es ist in Ordnung, wenn Sie sich für eine ausgefallene Optik entscheiden, aber wenn Sie es übertreiben, kann sich das negativ auf das Verhalten Ihres Besuchers nach dem Betreten der Website auswirken. Ein weiterer Aspekt der Dekoration Ihrer Website sind die Ladezeiten. Je mehr Bilder und Ornamente Sie verwenden, desto länger ist die Wartezeit für Ihre Besucher. Die Menschen sind beschäftigt und haben keine Zeit für solche Dinge - sie möchten lieber sofort eine Antwort erhalten.

Was SEO betrifft, so achtet Google auf die Seitenbelastung Geschwindigkeit ist ein Ranking-Faktor, dessen Verbesserung Ihnen zu einer besseren Platzierung verhelfen wird.

Optimierung für mehrere Geräte

Seit September 2020 verwendet Google mobile-first Indizierung für alle Websites. Das bedeutet, dass der Crawler der mobilen Version Ihrer Website für das Ranking und die Indexierung Vorrang einräumt. Die richtige Optimierung Ihrer Website für Mobilgeräte ist derzeit sowohl für Ihre SEO- als auch für Ihre UX-Bemühungen entscheidend. Mehr als 50% der Internetnutzer nutzen mobile Geräte, was ein Grund mehr ist, Ihre Website sofort für mobile Geräte zu optimieren. 

Richtige Navigation

Viele Optionen, um sich auf Ihrer Website zu bewegen, scheinen zwar eine gute Idee zu sein, können aber für den Benutzer verwirrend sein. Auch hier mag es verlockend sein, so viel wie möglich intern zu verlinken, obwohl dies der Benutzerfreundlichkeit abträglich sein kann. Ihre Menüs sollten klar umrissen sein, und der Weg, den der Besucher nimmt, muss hervorgehoben werden. 

Sitemaps

Wie man SEO und UX in Einklang bringt 2

Sitemaps sind eine Art Blaupause, in der die Seiten Ihrer Website aufgeführt sind. Sitemaps für Suchmaschinen und Nutzer unterscheiden sich zwar in ihrer Komplexität, dienen aber mehr oder weniger demselben Zweck. Sie sollen das Navigieren und Crawlen der Website erleichtern. 

Semmelbrösel

Wie man SEO und UX in Einklang bringt 3

Breadcrumbs sind kleine Hilfsmenüs, die dem Benutzer helfen Spur ihren Weg auf die Website. Sie sind auch für die Google-Crawler nützlich, da die Breadcrumbs deutlich machen, wo sie sich befinden und wie sie dorthin gelangt sind.

Künftige Trends

 

Google konzentriert sich mehr und mehr auf UX, das ist unbestreitbar. Im Jahr 2021 wird es ein großes Update geben, das genau das betrifft. Wir können erwarten, dass sich die Prioritäten bei der Optimierung verschieben, wenn diese beiden Updates eingeführt werden.

Core Web Vitals

Wie man SEO und UX in Einklang bringt 4

Google kündigte im Mai 2020 an, dass sie eine neue Reihe von Metriken namens Core Web Vitals verwenden werden. Diese umfassen:

Größte inhaltsreiche Farbe (LCP) geht es um die Ladeleistung. Konkret geht es um die Zeit, die es dauert, bis Ihr Hauptinhalt geladen ist. Im Idealfall sollte die LCP unter 2,5 Sekunden liegen.
There’s a number of ways you can go about optimising your LCP. Some of them include improving server response time, resource load time optimisation (images, videos), and utilising Kunde-side rendering.

Erste Eingabeverzögerung (FID) gibt an, wie lange es dauert, bis Ihre Seite interaktiv wird. Die FID sollte nicht länger als 100 Millisekunden sein. Es ist möglich, dies mit Web Workern, Optimierung der Interaktionsbereitschaft und Aufteilung langer Aufgaben zu verbessern.

Kumulative Layout-Verschiebung (CLS) berücksichtigt die visuelle Konsistenz und Stabilität. Diese Kennzahl sollte unter 0,1 liegen, um die beste Nutzererfahrung zu bieten. Bei CLS werden plötzliche Verschiebungen im Layout Ihrer Seite aufgrund des asynchronen Ladens von Elementen oder dynamisch geladener Komponenten, die zu bestehenden Inhalten hinzugefügt werden, gemessen und auf dieser Grundlage eine Punktzahl ermittelt.

Wie man SEO und UX in Einklang bringt 5

Seite Experience Update

Page Experience Update wird die Einführung von Core Web Vitals als Ranking-Signal sein. Google hat angekündigt, dass die Änderung im Mai 2021 eingeführt werden soll. Dieses Update hat eine Menge Auswirkungen auf die Zukunft der Seitenoptimierung. Die Verbindung zwischen UX und SEO wird noch deutlicher werden. Mit der Einführung des Page Experience Updates wird Google die User Experience als einen der wichtigsten Rankingfaktoren behandeln.

War dieser Beitrag hilfreich?

SEO und UX

Zuletzt aktualisiert im Dezember 2021 von Lukasz Zelezny

SEO and UX

Last Updated in May 2021 by Lukasz Zelezny

Reading Time:8 minutes

SEO is not entirely about what it used to be. Back in the day, you’d simply stuff your page full of keywords, acquire a few links, and you were done. Nowadays, there are a lot of other factors to consider.

The first update that really shook how the algorithm works was the 2011 Google Panda. It was the breakthrough that made writers focus more on the quality of their writing instead of keywords. Further on, the 2013 Hummingbird update changed the approach by introducing semantic search. Google E-A-T was another one that made us focus more on expertise, authority, and trust. Security, credibility and authority took centre stage. 

The next major thing are the so-called Core Web Vitals. Google has plans to make UX an even more important ranking factor by measuring Google Page Experience Signal (mobile-friendliness, HTTPS, safe browsing), Largest Contentful Point, First Input Delay, and Cumulative Layout Shift. This is going to become a reality in May of 2021, and SEO specialists project that this will be one of the most significant shifts ever. All of those updates affect the alignment of UX and SEO.

How to align SEO and UX

 

What are UX and SEO, and how they affect each other

UX or User Experience consists of how the visitor feels and what they do upon entering your website. This includes their behaviour, how long they stay, what links they click, and the general perception of your website. Just as the name suggests, the focal point of UX is the end-user.

SEO is a little different. Its primary purpose is to provide appropriate directions for a user to find your website via a search engine. What happens next is no longer the concern of SEOs. The main difference is the fact that crawlers don’t perceive the website in the same way people do. Bots focus on the source code; users concentrate on the visuals and content. SEO is more about satisfying the search engine instead of people.

A fair balance between the two is essential for your website’s success. So what if people can easily find your website if they leave immediately due to poor design and content? This is where UX and SEO intersect. Metrics such as dwell time are the proof of that. Petra Odak, CMO at Better Proposals comments further: “UX has an immediate effect on SEO. User experience is how a visitor interacts with your website. One of the major ranking factors for Google (and other search engine results) is the bounce rate, which again is tied to UX. In other words, if your UX is good, it means that the visitors like your content and that it’s valuable. Google then interprets that as a sign that your page is good and it ranks it higher. Simply put, you need a great UX to do well with SEO.”

At times, though, these two can hurt one another, posing some challenges.

Possible challenges

Finding a balance between writing for search engines and people

Writing for SEO and writing for UX follow different principles. While the former is supposed to please the search engine with proper keywords, schema, headings, meta tags, etc., the latter’s sole purpose is to fulfil the user’s expectations. Now, using keywords like you’re supposed to can often happen to be tough without sacrificing your content’s cohesiveness.

Imagine you’re getting keyword suggestions from a piece of software. These are taken from the top 10 pages that rank for a specific page. You might get suggested misspelt versions of a keyword, as such instances appeared in your competitors’ content. What are you supposed to do then? Sacrifice correctness for better rankings? This is where you’ll need to strike the perfect balance. Still, a good rule of thumb is that the user comes first.

Maintaining your budget to satisfy both

Both SEO and UX design can prove to be costly adventures. While SEO is more of a long-term expenditure, UX is mostly a one-time payment. Still, striking a balance in the budget for your SEO and UX design efforts is crucial. Underfunded SEO can bring you zero results, completely wasting your money, whereas bad UX will simply repel your visitors from your website. For this reason, you’ll need to make sure that both your campaigns are cost-efficient.

Navigation troubles

Sure, internal linking is important, but overusing it makes the interface simply look bad and cluttered. While it’s great to let the user move freely around the page in an intuitive way, overdoing that only creates a bigger mess, in reality making it harder to navigate throughout the site. 

Technical support issues

Neel Vithlani, digital marketer of Orderhive considers technical support issues as one of the causes for turmoil between UX and SEO: “Now, the reason many people consider both of them as enemies is perhaps, the fact that technical support lacks in many cases. For instance, Google AMP provides very basic analytics data despite being extremely user-friendly. It is not friendly for ads either. Thus, we can understand that the problem lies in technical support and market adoption.” He also mentions emails: “Emails have been dealing with a lack of technical support for decades, and recent upgrades have greatly impacted UX.”

Arranging the perfect marriage of UX and SEO

There are quite a few issues you’ll need to solve, and so here are some tips for making the whole SEO and UX ordeal work.

Establishing collaborative culture between the departments

SEO and UX people hold to different principles. Adjusting these two departments and fostering collaboration and effective communication should be the first step. William Cannon, CEO of Signaturely agrees: “Start by seating your SEO and UX units closely together (assuming you have both disciplines below the one roof). By experiencing the same working atmosphere, a competing relationship can oftentimes become a collaborative one, particularly if both teams are connected in web projects concurrently from the start.” 

Nevertheless, this should be done prior to the beginning of project development. Attempting to do that after you start off with the tasks makes it entirely pointless. Some communication issues might arise during the production stage, and you’ll be left with a short end of the stick. William adds on to the topic: “By operating together from the planning stages, both groups can present dominant acumens that may very adequately take your project to an astonishing (and altogether better) position. They’ll also take elevated ownership of the project by being discussed and added early in the method.”

Figuring out the search intent

https://twitter.com/debgotwired/status/1360589411021246476

Search intent is why users enter a particular query into the search bar. Now, satisfying the user’s intent should be your priority. You’ll need to know the characteristics of each SERP so that you’re not trying to rank your blog among eCommerce or product pages. That’s simply wasted effort, and why it’s possible to do, you won’t fulfil your customer’s expectations with your page.

Say a person enters “buy high heels” into Google. Their intent is to buy high heels. Your blog post ranking up there with the other eCommerce websites will undoubtedly generate little to no clicks for you. Since you didn’t satisfy the intent, you won’t gain anything, even if you rank high.

Focusing on snippets

According to Ahrefs, you generate 31% more traffic when you have a featured snippet in a SERP, compared to just the first place. For this reason, you’ll need to make your snippets stand out, as they’re supposed to provide the exact answer to the user’s question. This is where you’ll need to align your UX and SEO to make sure that you get your snippet and secondly, make it clickable and interesting. 

Identifying the best word count

Your competitors should give you an idea of what sort of content works best for your audience. While long-form content might be tempting, seeing that you can fit in more long-tail keywords, this is not always the case. Make sure to benchmark yourself against them to find out what the intent is. At times, short-form content simply works much better for conversions and traffic, but that solely depends on the topic and keywords. Remember all of the answers to what your page should be like are in the SERP’s top 10.

Providing quick, concise answers

Your visitors need answers; it’s as simple as that. Now, going for fancy visuals alright, although overdoing it might be harmful to how your visitor behaves after entering the website. Another aspect of decorating your website is loading times. The more imagery and ornaments you use, the longer the wait time for your visitor. People are busy, and they don’t have time for such things — they’d rather get an instant answer.

As for SEO, Google is looking at page load speed as a ranking factor, so improving it will help you rank up.

Multiple device optimisation

Since September 2020, Google uses mobile-first indexing for all websites. This means that the crawler prioritises the mobile version of your website for ranking and indexing. Optimising your website for mobile properly is currently critical both for your SEO and UX endeavours. More than 50% of internet dwellers are on mobile devices, which is all the more reason to optimise for mobile immediately. 

Proper navigation

While a lot of options to move around your website seem like a good idea, it might be confusing for the user. Again, it might be tempting to internally link as much as you can, although that can be detrimental to UX. Your menus should be clearly outlined, and the path your visitor takes has to be highlighted. 

Sitemaps

Sitemaps are a sort of blueprint that list the pages of your website. While sitemaps for search engines and users differ by quite a bit in complexity, they more or less serve the same purpose. They’re supposed to make the site easier to navigate and crawl. 

Breadcrumbs

Breadcrumbs are little helper menus to help the user track their progress into the website. In fact, they’re also useful to Google crawlers, as breadcrumbs make it obvious where they are and how they got there.

Future trends

 

Google is getting more and more focused on UX; that’s undeniable. There is going to be a huge update in 2021 concerning just that. We can expect a shift in priorities of optimisation when these two are rolled out.

Core Web Vitals

Google announced in May 2020 that they would be using a new set of metrics called Core Web Vitals. These include:

Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) is about loading performance. Specifically, this is the time it takes for your main content to load. Ideally, LCP should be below 2.5 seconds.
There’s a number of ways you can go about optimising your LCP. Some of them include improving server response time, resource load time optimisation (images, videos), and utilising client-side rendering.

First Input Delay (FID) is how long it takes for your page to become interactive. FID should be no longer than 100 milliseconds. It’s possible to improve it with web workers, interaction readiness optimisation, and breaking up long tasks.

Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS) takes visual consistency and stability into account. This metric should be lower than 0.1 to provide the best user experience. CLS involves measuring sudden shifts in your page’s layout due to asynchronous loading of elements or dynamically loaded components added to existing content and then giving you a score on that basis.

Page Experience Update

Page Experience Update is going to be the adoption of Core Web Vitals as a ranking signal. Google has announced that they’ll be introducing the change in May of 2021. This update has a lot of implications for the future of page optimisation. The connection between UX and SEO will become even more apparent. With the introduction of the Page Experience Update, Google will treat User Experience as one of the primary ranking factors.