Имеет ли сокращение URL влияет на SEO

Влияет ли сокращение URL-адреса на SEO?

Плохи ли сокращения URL-адресов для оптимизации поисковых систем (SEO)?

Если вы надеетесь достичь первого места в поисковом рейтинге, вам необходимо построить множество высококачественных обратных ссылок.

Хотя вы всегда можете построить обратные ссылки непосредственно на ваш сайт, альтернативным методом является их прогон через укорочитель URL. Если же вы собираетесь использовать укорочитель URL, вы можете поинтересоваться, как это повлияет на ваши усилия по поисковой оптимизации (SEO).

Как работает укорачиватель URL-адресов

Сокращение URL-адреса - это инструмент, обычно основанный на веб-технологиях, который используется для сокращения ссылки с помощью переадресации. Он берет вашу исходную ссылку и заменяет ее более короткой ссылкой.

Затем вы можете опубликовать сокращенную ссылку в социальных сетях, блогах и других веб-свойствах. Когда пользователь нажимает на нее, он будет перенаправлен на вашу оригинальную ссылку.

Когда вы запускаете ссылку через укорочитель URL, она создает новую ссылку, используя домен службы. Новая ссылка, по сути, будет состоять не более чем из 301 перенаправления на вашу первоначальную ссылку.

Некоторые из верхних сокращений URL-адресов включают в себя:

  • TinyURL
  • ShortURL
  • Битли
  • Ой
  • Бафф. Ли

Причины использования укоротителя URL-адресов

Раньше укорачивание URL-адресов играло важную роль при размещении ссылок в Twitter. До сентября 2016 года ссылки в твиттерах засчитывались в лимит символов Twitter, который в то время составлял 140 символов.

В результате, вы не могли поделиться длинной ссылкой в популярной социальной сети. Единственный способ поделиться длинной ссылкой - это прогнать ее через укорочитель URL, а затем разместить укороченную ссылку, а не оригинальную ссылку.

Несмотря на то, что Twitter больше не считает ссылки в сторону ограничения по количеству символов, которое сейчас составляет 280 символов, все же есть причины для использования сокращения URL-адреса.

Если вы строите ссылки на подстраницу, зарытую несколькими каталогами глубоко на вашем сайте, использование укорочения URL может привести к увеличению трафика.

Многие интернет-пользователи неохотно переходят по длинным ссылкам. Согласно исследованию, проведенному маркетинговым шерпой, короткие ссылки привлекают в два раза больше кликов, чем длинные.

Используя сокращение URL-адреса, вы можете создавать более короткие и привлекательные ссылки, которые увеличивают трафик на ваш сайт.

Сокращение URL-адреса может помочь вам сгенерировать больше акций в социальных сетях. Пользователям трудно запомнить длинные ссылки. Если ссылка содержит слишком много символов в пути к домену или каталогу, пользователь может забыть об этом, и в этом случае он не сможет поделиться ссылкой в социальных сетях.

С другой стороны, публикуя сокращенные ссылки, пользователи с большей вероятностью запомнят их, что может привести к увеличению доли сообщений в социальных сетях.

Вы можете более точно отслеживать трафик вашего сайта с помощью укорочения URL. Все укорочения URL предлагают аналитику по укороченным ссылкам.

После запуска ссылки через укорочитель URL-адреса и ее публикации в Интернете, вы можете отслеживать количество кликов, которые генерирует укороченная ссылка. Если вы используете укорочитель URL-адреса для создания нескольких укороченных ссылок, вы можете видеть, какие ссылки генерируют наибольший трафик.

Использование сокращения URL-адреса также может скрыть ссылки на ваш сайт от конкурентов. Если конкурент пытается обойти ваш сайт, он может проанализировать ссылки на ваш сайт.

После определения местоположения топ-ссылок вашего сайта, конкурент может попытаться воссоздать их для своего сайта. Но если вы прогоните ссылки по сокращению URL-адресов, конкуренты не смогут их найти.

Сокращенные URL и SEO: что вы должны знать.

Вопреки распространенному мнению, использование укорочения URL не повредит или иным образом не нарушит ваши усилия по поиску SEO. Во время работы в Google Мэтт Каттс опубликовал на YouTube видео, в котором рассказал о влиянии укорочения URL на поисковый рейтинг сайта.

Согласно Cutts, Google относится к укороченным ссылкам как к стандартному 301 редиректу, поэтому укороченные ссылки проходят через весь свой собственный капитал.

Другие поисковые системы используют аналогичный подход при работе с укороченными ссылками. Когда поисковая система встречает укороченную ссылку, поисковая система награждает страницу, на которую она перенаправляет ссылку, со всем равенством ссылок.

301 перенаправление часто используется при изменении местоположения веб-страниц. Если вы перемещаете веб-страницу в другое место на вашем сайте, вы можете использовать 301 перенаправление, чтобы сохранить поисковый рейтинг страницы.

301 переадресация добавляется к старому местоположению страницы, где она перенаправляет пользователей к новому местоположению страницы. Сокращенные ссылки функционируют так же, как и эти обычные 301 переадресации, передавая равенство всех ссылок.

Google даже раньше предлагал укоротить URL. Известный как goo.gl, компания Mountain View выпустила его в декабре 2009 года для использования с Google Toolbar, а также Feedburner.

В марте 2019 года Google прекратил работу службы. Поскольку goo.gl работал в течение десяти лет, можно с уверенностью предположить, что Google просматривает сокращение URL-адресов в пользу.

Советы по использованию укоротителя URL-адресов и SEO.

  • Выберите авторитетный и хорошо известный укоротитель URL-адресов. Если укоротитель URL-адресов отключится или возникнут технические проблемы с серверами, все ваши укороченные ссылки могут перестать работать.
  • Всегда тестируйте укороченные ссылки перед их публикацией в Интернете, чтобы убедиться, что они функционируют правильно. Если при посещении укороченная ссылка приводит к ошибке 404, не публикуйте ее в Интернете. Вместо этого используйте стандартную ссылку или переключитесь на другое укорочение URL.
  • Рассмотрим возможность использования премиум-сокращений URL-адресов, которые поддерживают пользовательские слипы URL-адресов. Бесплатные сокращения URL-адресов обычно не имеют настройки слипов URL-адресов, что означает, что вы вынуждены использовать общие ссылки. Премиум-сокращений URL-адресов, однако, позволяет вам указать желаемые слипы URL-адресов, что позволяет создавать описательные и богатые ключами пользовательские ссылки.
  • Выберите укорачиватель URL-адресов, который создает ссылки без срока действия. Если укорачиваемая ссылка имеет срок действия, она больше не будет работать после этой даты.
  • Придерживайтесь одного укорачивателя URL-адреса, чтобы отслеживать все клики с одной панели аналитики.

Будь то Google, Bing, Ask.com или DuckDuckGo, все основные поисковые системы используют обратные ссылки для определения поискового рейтинга сайта.

Когда они сталкиваются с укороченной ссылкой, они относятся к ней так же, как к стандартному 301 редиректу. В результате, вы можете использовать укорочение URL при построении обратных ссылок.

Reading Time: 6 minutes

 

If you’re hoping to achieve first-page search rankings, you’ll need to build plenty of high-quality backlinks.

While you can always build backlinks directly to your website, an alternative method is to run them through a URL shortener. If you’re going to use a URL shortener, you might wonder how it will impact your search engine optimization (SEO) efforts.

Shortening URLs may be useful in several situations for a variety of reasons. The appearance of ordinary, unshortened links might often be deemed unappealing. Many web developers may send descriptive characteristics in the URL to represent data hierarchies, command structures, transaction pathways, or session information. This is done for a variety of reasons. 

Because of this, URLs may end up being hundreds of characters long and may include intricate character patterns. These URLs are tough to remember and write down and pass along. Because of this, lengthy URLs need copying and pasting to ensure their trustworthiness. 

Therefore, short URLs may be more convenient for websites or hard-copy publications (for example, a printed magazine or a book). This is because hard copy publications frequently require that long strings be broken into multiple lines (as with some e-mail software or internet forums) or truncated.

A URL shortener is a tool, typically web-based, that’s used to shorten a link through a redirect. It takes your original link and replaces it with a shorter link.

You can then publish the shortened link on social media, blogs and other web properties. Users will be redirected to your original link when they click it.

When you run a link through a URL shortener, it will create a new link using the service’s domain. The new link will essentially consist of a 301 redirect to your original link.

  • TinyURL
  • ShortURL
  • Bitly
  • Ow.ly
  • Buff.ly
TinyURL URL Shortener
TinyURL URL Shortener

Reasons for Using a URL Shortener SEO:

In the past, URL shorteners were essential when posting links on Twitter. Up until September 2016, links in tweets counted towards Twitter’s character limit, which was 140 characters at the time.

As a result, you couldn’t share long links on the popular social media network. The only way to share a long link was to run it through a URL shortener and then post the shortened link rather than the original link.

While Twitter no longer counts long URLs towards its character limit, which is now 280 characters, there are still reasons for using a URL shortener.

Bitly URL Shortener
Bitly URL Shortener

If you’re building links to a subpage buried several directories deep on your website, using a URL shortener may result in more traffic.

Many internet users are reluctant to clink on long links. According to a study conducted by Marketing Sherpa, short links attract over twice as many clicks as long links.

Using a URL shortener, you can create shorter and more attractive links that drive traffic to your website.

A URL shortener can help you generate more shares on social media. It’s difficult for users to remember long links. If a link has too many characters in its domain or directory path, a user may forget it, in which case he or she won’t be able to share it on social media.

By publishing shortened links, on the other hand, users are more likely to remember them, which may lead to more social media shares.

You can track your website’s traffic more closely using a URL shortener. All URL shorteners offer analytics on shortened links.

After running a link through a URL shortener and publishing it online, you can track the number of clicks the shortened link generates. If you use a URL shortener to create multiple shortened links, you can see which links generated the most traffic.

Using a URL shortener can also conceal your website’s links from competitors. If a competitor is trying to outrank your website, he or she may analyze your site’s links.

After identifying the location of your website’s top links, the competitor may attempt to recreate them for his or her website. But if you run your links through a URL shortener, competitors won’t be able to find them.

URL Shorteners and SEO: What You Should Know About Shorteners

Contrary to popular belief, using a URL shortener won’t harm or otherwise disrupt your SEO efforts. While working at Google, Matt Cutts published a YouTube video in which he talked about the impact of URL shorteners on a website’s search rankings.

According to Cutts, Google treats shortened links like a standard 301 redirect. Therefore, shortened links pass all their link equity.

Other search engines use a similar approach when handling shortened links. When a search engine encounters a shortened link, the search engine will award the page to which it redirects with all the link equity.

301 redirects when you are using URL shorteners

301 redirects are often used when changing the location of web pages. If you’re moving a web page to a different location on your website, you can use a 301 redirect to retain the page’s search rankings.

The 301 redirects are added to the page’s old location, where it redirects users to the page’s new location. Shortened links function just like these conventional 301 redirects bypassing all link equity.

Google even used to offer a URL shortener. Known as goo.gl, the Mountain View company released it in December 2009 for use with Google Toolbar as well as Feedburner.

In March 2019, Google discontinued the service. Being that goo.gl was operational for a decade, it’s safe to assume Google views URL shorteners favourably.

Tips on Using a URL Shortener and SEO

  • Choose a reputable and well-known URL shortener. If the URL shortener shuts down or experiences a technical problem with its servers, all your shortened links may stop working.
  • Always test shortened links before publishing them online to ensure they function as intended. If a shortened link triggers a 404 error when visited, don’t publish it online. Instead, use a standard link or switch to a different URL shortener.
  • Consider using a premium URL shortener that supports custom URL slugs. Free URL shorteners typically lack URL slug customization, meaning you’re forced to use generic links. Premium URL shorteners, however, allow you to specify your desired URL slugs, allowing for descriptive and keyword-rich custom links.
  • Choose a URL shortener that creates links without an expiration date. If a shortened link has an expiration date, it will no longer work after that date.
  • Stick with a single URL shortener so that you track all clicks from a single analytics dashboard.

Summary and conclusions

Whether it’s Google, Bing, Ask.com or DuckDuckGo, all major search engines use backlinks to determine a website’s search rankings.

When they encounter a shortened link, they’ll treat it just like a standard 301 redirect. As a result, you can use a URL shortener when building backlinks.

A URL shortening service is a tool that allows users to shorten lengthy links into shorter, more manageable URLs. These shortened URLs are often used to share links on social media or in messaging apps, where space is limited.

However, they can also have an impact on search engine optimization (SEO). When a shortened URL is shared and clicked on, it redirects the user to the original, longer URL. This redirection can potentially affect the way search engine algorithms view and rank the original page.

It is important to consider the use of a URL shortener service and its potential impact on SEO when sharing links online.

While URL shorteners can be convenient for sharing links, there are also potential negative SEO benefits to consider. Some link shortening services may not be well-respected by search engines, and using a short URL from one of these services could potentially harm the ranking of the original page. In addition, short URLs can sometimes lack the aesthetic appeal of a more descriptive, longer URL.

This can be particularly true for branded links, which may be more effective when they include the name of the brand or product. For these reasons, it may be advisable to use an SEO-friendly URL shortener service when possible.

This type of service can help ensure that short URLs do not negatively impact the ranking of the original page and maintain a level of aesthetic appeal.

URL shorteners can be a useful tool for content marketing campaigns, as they allow marketers to share links in a concise and easily digestible format. However, it is important to choose a reputable provider when selecting a URL shortener service.

There are many URL shorteners available, and not all of them are created equal. Some may not be as reliable as others, or may not offer the same level of security. By using a reputable provider, marketers can be confident that their short URLs will redirect users to the intended web address and not potentially harmful sites. Additionally, many URL shortener services allow users to create custom short URLs, which can be a useful feature for branding purposes.

By creating concise and memorable short URLs, marketers can make it easier for users to access and share their content.

Was this post helpful?

Does URL Shortening Affect SEO

Last Updated in 2022-12-29T00:26:56+00:00 by Lukasz Zelezny